Haydon Bridge is a small town on the River South Tyne with a small but interesting range of accommodation and shops.
It was the birthplace of the Victorian artist, John Martin, Northumberland's most famous artist., whose birthplace is a short walk from the village centre. This walk can easily be extended to take in nearby Langley Castle, a former ruin restored in the late 19th century and recently imaginatively converted into a hotel.
The castle played a role in the Jacobite risings of 1715 and 1745. James and Charles, Viscounts Langley and Earls of Derwentwater who lived in the castle, took part in the uprising and were beheaded for treason on Tower Hill in London.
Haydon Bridge station was first opened a year after the first stations along the line in 1836. At first the station was temporary but was made a permanent stop two years later when the line was extended to the village of Greenhead. The station currently has a distinctive level crossing.
The town itself was originally just called Haydon and was situated to the north of the River Tyne; but having expanded over the river it was renamed Haydon Bridge. There are two very distinctive bridges that cross the River Tyne, the original bridge which is an attraction due to its picturesque look and the other is the modern A69 bridge.
For up to date information also see: